Carter Beats the Devil

By: Glen Gold, Glen David Gold

Price: $8.00

Quantity: 1 available


More Description

An amazing, richly evocative novel of magic and history in the tradition of E. L. Doctorow and Caleb Carr.

America in the 1920s was a nation obsessed with magic. Not just the kind performed in theaters and on stages across the country, but the magic of technology, science, and prosperity. Enter Charles Carter -- a.k.a. Carter the Great -- a young master performer whose skill as an illusionist exceeds even that of the great Houdini. Fueled by a passion for magic that grew out of desperation and loneliness, Carter has become a legend in his own time. His thrilling act involves outrageous stunts carried out on elaborate sets before the most demanding audiences. But the most outrageous stunt of all stars none other than President Warren Harding and ends up nearly costing Carter the reputation he worked so hard to create. Filled with historical references that evoke the excesses and enthusiasm of postwar, pre-Depression America, Carter Beats the Devil is the complex and illuminating story of one man's journey through a magical -- and sometimes dangerous -- world, where illusion is everything, and everything is illusory.

Title: Carter Beats the Devil

Author Name: Glen Gold, Glen David Gold

Categories: Novel HC,

Publisher: Hyperion: August 2001

ISBN Number: 0786867345

ISBN Number 13: 9780786867349

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Used - Good

Seller ID: 10000000111969

Description: Dust Jacket Has Light Wear Domestic orders shipped with USPS tracking numbers.